Disabled golfer Nicki Jones wins inaugural Race to Burhill title in grand final

Disabled Golf Association, BGL Golf

A national tournament series for members of the Disabled Golfers Association (DGA) has reached its climax at Burhill Golf Club, Surrey, as Perthes sufferer Nicki Jones triumphed in the grand final to be crowned 2013 Race to Burhill Champion.

Burhill Golf Club is both part of, and headquarters for, BGL Golf, the UK’s leading golf course owner and operator, which, in partnership with the DGA launched the Race to Burhill in April 2013.

After qualifying through six regional rounds, staged at different BGL Golf facilities located across the UK throughout the year, finalists teed up for the grand final on Burhill’s spectacular New Course, a regular venue for the PGA EuroPro Tour.

Finalists included a 17-year-old with cerebral palsy, a 63-year-old with full-leg/hind-quarter amputation, as well as stroke survivors, plus golfers with polio and Parkinson’s.

Nicki, from South Wales, qualified in the first round at Thornbury Golf Centre, Bristol, and topped the leaderboard in the final on 35 Stableford points. 

The runner-up by two strokes, Ben Whitlock, a one armed golfer from Hampshire, proved the most accurate shot and managed to take the spoils in the Nearest the Pin competition on the short 18th hole.

Above the knee amputees, Alan Moulpied, from Wiltshire, and Scott Richardson, from Buckinghamshire, were also in the prizes as the Wiltshire man completed the 18-hole competition with 32 points to finish in third place and Scott secured the Longest Drive competition on the 7th hole.

Sue Robertson, DGA Director, said “We have found each of BGL’s courses has their own unique character and each has something extra to offer, but what we’ve found has remained the same has been the warm welcome and commitment to excellence at each and every venue.”

Colin Mayes, BGL Chief Executive, said: “We are dedicated to making golf accessible to all, regardless of age, gender or ability and it has been a pleasure to welcome all participants in the inaugural Race to Burhill, especially the finalists.

“Congratulations to Nicki and I look forward to seeing his attempt to defend the title next year.”